Where I began and where I am

January 21, 2009 at 9:20 am 6 comments

On January 1st, 2009 I weighed 161.4lbs.  That means I am aiming to lose 31.4lbs by April 30th, 2009. 

So far, I’ve lost 7.6lbs by adding more cardio to my workouts and limiting fat in my diet.  For instance I no longer have cream in my coffee or mayonnaise on my sandwiches.  I will admit, a proper tuna sandwich cannot be made without mayonnaise, so I only use a little.  I am also very conscious of portion sizes and calories.  This sounds more complex than it is though.  I simply won’t eat more than a portion size of most things and if something is particularly high in calories I won’t eat it.

To hold myself accountable and to track what works and what doesn’t I write down my meals and exercise in a journal.  On January 1st, 2009 I helped Mike clean out all the delicious holiday foods from our house by eating chocolates, chips, soup, toast with no margarine, one wrap, juice, water and coffee with cream.   As for exercise I walked at the park, shoveled snow and did laundry.  Note: During many or most of these activities I was with Mike, which means he probably shared the shoveling load.

Needless to say, when I weighed myself on the 2nd I found I had gained 1.6lbs.  So, on the 2nd my true diet began.  I ate proper portions of plain yogurt with granola, an orange, coffee with no cream , carrots, an apple, baby tomatos, turkey sandwich, soup, 1 cracker, juice, buns and stew.  I burned off that food by walking to and from work and by spending an hour at the gym.

The next day (January 3rd, 2009), I discovered I’d lost 2lbs!  Now, I know weight isn’t the best indicator because of water retension and muscle mass etc… but it works for me and having a scale that weighs within .2 of a pound is extremely motivating. 

I’ll share more later!

Kathy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My goal The 3rd of January till now…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dirk  |  January 21, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Go Kathy! You can do it. If your having troubles I would totally recommend Chuck Norris’ Total Gym work out. Yeah! even Christie Brinkley thinks its the sh*t. How could you go wrong. The routine begins with 500 round house kicks to the face of an unexpecting person.
    Good luck says Chuck!

    Reply
    • 2. 130byapril30th  |  January 22, 2009 at 8:26 pm

      Hi Dirk, Chuck and Christie,

      Thanks for the encouragement and advice!

      Hugs,
      Kathy.

      Reply
  • 3. John Rocheleau - Zen-Moments  |  January 21, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Kathy,

    “So far, I’ve lost 7.6lbs by adding more cardio to my workouts and limiting fat in my diet.”

    That says it all. Keep up the discipline and you’ll reinvent or rediscover yourself in so many ways.

    Way to go 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. 130byapril30th  |  January 22, 2009 at 8:28 pm

      Hi John,

      I certainly have been thinking about discipline in regard to this goal and the concept probably would not have occured to me if you hadn’t mentioned it in previous conversations, so thanks!

      Kathy.

      Reply
  • 5. Lisa Nishi  |  January 21, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Way to go Kathy! I know some days are harder than others (from experience, I’ve lost 25 lbs since November). I know you can do it, and I am here if you need support.

    Also, if you wanna try some TKD I can hook you up for 1 month free. It’s nice to do some workouts in a group. I find many days I do much more than I would have simply because I have to take my kids to classes.. more truthfully I would not have exersized at all.

    My main diet thing is no refined carbs (chips, crackers or even sugar) and only sprouted wheat bread.

    Lisa

    Lisa

    Reply
    • 6. 130byapril30th  |  January 22, 2009 at 8:32 pm

      Hi Lisa,

      Thanks for the offer of support. So far I’ve been going pretty strong on my discipline but I’ll certainly let you know if I need a pep talk, particularly at work! 🙂 Your progress since November is noticeable and awesome! BTW, I am definitely going to keep TKD in mind.

      Kathy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



